Chevy Trucks - GM Inside - Ford Inside - Ford Ranger - Jeep - American Muscle

Post How To: Servicing Rear Drum Brakes

How To: Service Rear Drum Brakes
    Changing Drums, Shoes, Hardware and Wheel Cylinder

***DISCLAIMER***
    Proceed at your own risk. I am not a licensed mechanic nor do I have any formal training in automotive repair. These instructions are simply a step-by-step reproduction of how I serviced the rear brakes on my Ford Ranger. There may be better ways and methods for completing the repair and maintenance covered by these instructions, but the following has worked well for me.

This was my first time doing the work described in these instructions. I decided to write these instructions to aid anybody else who is considering servicing drum brakes themselves.

***NOTE***

The truck I worked on was a 1996 Ford Ranger with the 10 drum brakes with ABS. Other years may be different. Parts for your truck may differ slightly, especially if you have the 9 drums. Consult your auto parts supplier for proper parts.

*PARTS AND MATERIALS*
    1 Set of Brake Shoes ($21.99)
    1 Drum Brake Hardware Kit ($6.69)
    Brake Grease (~$2)
    Brake Spring Compressor Tool ($7.99) OPTIONAL

Brake Spring Plier Tool ($7.99) OPTIONAL

2 Sets of Brake Adjuster Hardware Kits - Left and Right (~$10 each) OPTIONAL
    Wheel Cylinder ($12.49 each) IF NEEDED
    Brake Drum ($38.99 each) IF NEEDED
    Brake Cleaner ($3.29)

Prices may differ.

*TOOLS REQUIRED*
    Jack
    Jack Stands
    Appropriate Wrenches to remove wheels
    Needle Nose Pliers
    Brake Spring Compressor Tool (optional but HIGHLY recommended)
    Brake Spring Plier Tool (optional but HIGHLY recommended)
    Vise Grips
    2 Flat Head Screw Drivers
    Catch pan
    7/16 Brake Line Wrench (if replacing Wheel Cylinder)
    1/2 Wrench/Socket (if replacing Wheel Cylinder)